Beer Review: Leinenkugel’s Bavarian Dunkel

leinenkugelsThis is some fantastic beer. And it will make your farts smell like dog shit.

Now that’s an honest review! The Beer Judge Certification Program would tell you that this beer is in category 6c. German Dunkels Bock. It has a nutty aroma, coffee and chocolate taste with sharp carbonation and a touch of bitter floral hops. Probably Tettnanger or Hallertau.

And… it makes your farts smell like straight-up dog shit. Or, my farts anyway. There are some beers that do it and others that don’t. Mostly, it’s red or amber American ales. Of course, my own Revenge American Amber Ale is a fine example of TFS-causing beer. (Toxic Fart Syndrome)  Other examples would be Killian’s Red and Blood on the Blade Red IPA. It may just be amber malts that do it. I don’t know. I’m not a scientist, I’m just a stinky guy who makes beer in his kitchen.

I might be able to scientifically nail down the exact malts. You know, using science. For sure, Bavarian RedX malt does the trick as does Crystal 60L. I’m not sure what causes it, but afterwards, (approximately 11 hours 30 minutes ‘drink-to-fart time’ or DFT) I can clear out a room of Hippos eating Mexican Food. (There is a beer review somewhere in this post… I promise)

Isn’t that great?

One time, in the middle of the night after drinking about 3-4 Revenge Ales, I let one go in the bed. My wife was in a dead slumber and the smell woke her up. I shit you not, no pun intended, she woke up, got out of bed and went out into the hall. She started searching all over the floor for signs of dog shit. I started to giggle and thought to myself, “No fucking way! She’s actually looking for dog shit!” She was not amused.

Anyhoo… Leinenkugels Bavarian Dunkel is a fantastic beer. I could go through a sixer in one night, they’re so damn smooth and tasty. I may grab another six tonight much to my wife’s chagrin. I really hope when I make Arminius Bock, it comes out just like Leinie’s Dunkels Bock. Major props and respect to this great Midwestern (Wisconsin) brewery. Cheers, Leinies’!

Leave a comment