Roxie Irish Red Republican Army Bombs

roxieirishredAgain with the reds! It’s no secret American Amber Ale is my favorite. I’m always on the hunt for a good amber ale. Last night, I gave an Irish Red a try.

Roxie Irish Red from Boone Valley Brewing in Boone, Iowa was pretty good. It has just the right amount of hops, a nice amount of amber malt and perfect carbonation. It’s only 5.5%ABV, but I thought it tasted a bit more harsh than that. The style “Irish Red” generally uses an Irish yeast that I’m not a big fan of. Roxie has a slightly sour aftertaste that Irish Red fans will like, but it isn’t really my favorite. Did I stop after drinking one? Of course not! I played some Xbox and only left one bottle of the six-pack in the garage beer fridge.

Playing video games while drinking beers is fun. Driving games are of course, much more difficult. As is this cool game I played with my brother in law last night called “Keep Talking and No One Blows Up“. This is a really cool game where one person is given a tablet with a bomb defusing guide and the other person is at the computer with the simulated bomb. The two players can’t see each other’s screens, but have to talk to each other to defuse the bomb. It’s pretty fun, but much harder the more you drink!

Boone Valley Brewing is yet another story of a home-brewer turned pro. I would definitely like to give this place a visit and you should too. Here’s their taproom address and hours of operation…

Beer lineup changes often

Sunday 1:00-5:00
Monday 4:30-9:00
Tuesday Closed
Wednesday Closed
Thursday 4:30-9:00
Friday 4:30-10:00
Saturday 1:00-10:00

816 7th St.,
Boone, IA 50036

Leave a Reply

